Hockey World Cup 2023: World Cup starts from January 13, know when India won Gold Medal. Hockey World Cup 2023 these-16 countries-are-going-to-field-in-the-hockey-world-cup-know-when-india-won-the-gold-medal

Sports desk , Edited By: Roshni Singh , Updated on: 03 Jan 2023, 06:11:46 PM

Team India, Hockey World Cup 1975 (Photo Credit: Social Media)

new Delhi:

Hockey World Cup 2023: India will host the Hockey World Cup early this year. The Hockey World Cup will be organized from January 13 to 29 in Rourkela, Odisha. Teams from 16 countries of the world will participate in this tournament. All the matches of the Hockey World Cup will be played at Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar and Birsa Munda Stadium in Rourkela. The Indian team will also present its claim of victory in this tournament. Although it will not be so easy for Team India to win the World Cup, because India will compete with the top teams.

Also read: IND vs SL: Deadly bowler joins Team India for Sri Lanka series, passes fitness test

16 teams will be divided into 4 pools

A total of 16 teams are participating in the Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023. All these teams are divided into 4 pools of four each. They are named Pool-A, Pool-B, Pool-c and Pool-D. The Indian team is in Pool D along with Spain, England and Wales. On the other hand, Pool A includes teams like Australia and France. While Pool B consists of Germany and Japan. On the other hand, teams like Netherlands and Chile have been placed in Pool-C. Talk about India in the world ranking, it is at the fifth position. Due to hosting, India has directly qualified for the World Cup.

Also read: Good news for Delhi Capitals before IPL 2023, Saurabh Ganguly returns to Rishabh Pant’s team

Let us tell you that the Hockey World Cup started in the year 1971. That year the Indian team had won the bronze medal. After that India won the silver medal in the year 1973. After this, the Indian team won its first gold medal in the year 1975. Since then the Indian team has not won the gold medal even once. This year the Indian team would like to win the gold medal at home and become the world champion.

India has hosted the World Cup three times before. Earlier, India has hosted the Hockey World Cup in the years 1982, 2010 and 2018.

related article

First Published : 03 Jan 2023, 06:10:14 PM

For all the Latest Sports News, More Sports News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

For More information on Sports News update to our 6TV News website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *